OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 1094071_622567604434069_540527408_o

I hit Spectrum Art NY last Thursday for the VIP Event and to check out works from some favorites and find some new ones. I caught up with Eve-Marie Bilodeau of Galerie Simard Bilodeau to check out their latest. The bronze wall sculptures of Mermaids from Ira Bruce Reines were amazing, Andre Desjardins big bold works convey so much emotion, and the new surrealistic portrait paintings by Larry “Renzo” Lewis were very cool. Pino’s and Vidan’s  portraits are beautiful and enchanting.

Vincent George  had an interesting updated twist on the Magritte classic “Son of Man”  The James Wilner man in suit having smoke burst off the canvas with a bright and bold background. Stanislaw Goc’s photography of reflections reminded me how my Father used to always say “it’s your eye, not the camera”. Sotiris had some great bright colored abstracts of landscapes and figures. Craig Alan’s collection of  wonderfully spooky takes on Alice in Wonderland were my favorite new find. Imagine if the team that does American Horror Story on FX did a season on Alice in Wonderland…this it what it would look like. My Bo wanted one…but with kids, especially his, they would like it too much…

When you first walk in you are greeted by Robert Hartshorn’s incredible portraits of women. Thus, I checked them coming in and saved them for last as well. How he nails the lighting on his figures is amazing. His works were some of my favorites from a previous show and were again for this one. I also had the opportunity to discuss with him again not only his work but painting techniques as well. When I shared some of my challenges in portrait painting he gave me a rather helpful hint. What I’m trying to accomplish with blending…requires oils…not acrylics. Looks like I’m going to have to try my luck with oils after all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

