The White Negroni is not a place, though at times it can be a state of mind. It quite simply, like the Boulevardier is a an update on the classic Negroni. I originally discovered these at  Amor y Amargo. They have an excellent selection of drinks and you can buy their  bitters and bar supplies as well. PDT and Dutch Kills also make them and if i remember correctly PDT invented them. For the White Negroni…

White Negroni
Gin – Use a good London Dry Gin, but noting too high end, save those for Martini’s and the like. I currently use Brokers, it is excellent, though packs quite a punch.

Vermouth – I use Dolin Blanc

Aperitif – The classic red version uses Campari, you replace that with a fortified wine. When I first started making these I used Bitterman’s Grapefruit or Orange Liquors and still do. However recently the guys at Astor Wines turned me onto  Kina L’Avion d’Or (it also makes a phenomonal Vesper) a Lillet that is closer to the original recipe and absolutely delicious. You could easily drink this straight up.

Bitter- I add bitters as well. A good Citrus like Hell’s Bitters, Bitterman’s Hopped Grapefruit or a Fee Brothers Orange works best.

To make the drink quite simply pour equal parts of the liquors with some shakes of the bitters into a glass with ice. Stir. Pour into a glass with ice and add a twist of grapefruit or lemon. Sip…drink…enjoy…repeat..

I also like Gin and Tonic’s and Spain’s fascination with the adding of infused bitters, herbs, fruit, etc has finally caught on here. A few ways I like to enjoy them at home is by adding bitters. Lavender I find is my favorite. I also have a great Hibiscus based one from Bittermans. I also like to sometimes add just a teaspoon of either Apertol or Rose Combier(Rose flowered triple sec that is amazing for margaritas) The real key here though is to use a good quality Tonic. My favorites are Fever Tree and Q Tonic. They make a drastic difference from using the overly sugared up stuff usually used.

As an added bonus a new drink that may be my cocktail of choice this winter. It’s called a Boulevardier and it’s a variation of a Negroni. I believe the Dead Rabbit serves these, though they use another name. You substitute Whisky for the Gin. My recipe is equal parts

Whisky/Bourbon
Aperol (Frequently used in Gin based drinks, not as strong or bitter as Campari)
Cocchi Americano – Another Aperitif that is a great addition to your home bar. Again you could use the Kina or like Lillet.

Stir together pour into glass with ice with a twist of citrus peel(I like grapefruit) and I also hit it with some citrus bitters…I like drinking these slow…

Boudvedier
Leave a Reply

