Route66 Pulled Pork

I was downtown, hungry and looking for something new…as I’m heading down Pearl Street I come upon Route 66 Smokehouse. It looked cool inside and I love BBQ so I popped in. They have a number of high wooden tables and chairs, brick walls and above the bar TVs for the games and news. I  took a seat at their very long wood bar and started to work my way through their menu. It covers a lot of ground from Fried Green Tomatoes to Ribs, Shrimp n Grits, Brisket, Smoked Wings, and even a nice selection of salads and sides that included Kale, BBQ beans, and Jalapeno Cornbread…

Since I was their for lunch with limited time it was Route 66’s sandwich selection that drew me in. While the Portobello Friend Green Tomato and Tri-Tip in Chimichurri  sounded good, since this is a BBQ joint it was the Pulled Pork and the Sliced Brisket that I was torn between. I flipped a coin in my head  and decided to go Pulled Pork. It was cooked down and delish served on a fresh bun that held it’s own against the pulled pork. They have Carolina and Memphis BBQ sauce…I went  with Carolina. It came with some great perfectly cooked Sweet Potato Fries. Since I was there for lunch I didn’t get a change to work my way through their huge selection of Whiskeys ,Cocktail menu or the nice sized selection of drafts…will have to save that for another visit. Route 66 Smokehouse is a great addition to the Pearl Street strip of restaurants and the growing NYC BBQ scene.

Route 66 Smokehouse Located at 79 Pearl Street

Leave a Reply

