IMG_5301IMG_5298

Do you love Chinese Dumplings, but wish the little pan- fried pleasure were a bit better for you and not so much a guilty pleasure. Well, I may have found the organic dumplings of your dreams. After jumping off the bus on 2nd Ave on my way to pick up some Art supplies and run some errands I walked by Mimi Cheng’s Dumplings. I love dumplings , liked the organically sourced info on the menu board and the price was right so I popped in.

The menu is fairly limited to Chicken, Pork or Veggie Dumplings, but hey came for the organic dumplings , right? You can get all of one or split by 2, thought not by all 3. Of note, I think they should change this (hint, hint:). Go for 6 for $8 or 8 for $10. You can get them steamed or pan-fried, they recommend pan fried. I found them to be very juicy and flavorful. The Chicken has zucchini mixed in with it and the Pork has Bok Choy and Cabbage. The wrapper they use is delicious and notably different from most I’ve had…plus they very , very lightly pan fry them. Hit them wit some of Mimi’s “secret sauce” and or Sriracha, I used both. To drink I had Thai Basil Lemonade that was very tasty and refreshing …just the right balance between tart and sweet. They have Iced Tea as well. While I didn’t get to try them, they have desert dumplings stuffed with apples and cinnamon. These really are some of the better Dumplings I’ve had, add them to your Best Of list.

Mimi’s Dumplings is located at 179 2nd Avenue.

Leave a Reply

