Looking for something new (at least to me) and or different while roaming about Grand Street in Williamsburg I came upon Pasar Malam, featuring the food of a Malaysisn Night Market. How could I not pop in…and found myself greeted by a Dragon. 

There were a number of non-alcoholic beverages on the menu that looked interesting, one with Rose essence and Basil, a Ginger Cola drink served hot and their Spicy Indonesian Ginger Tea which I chose and loved. 

I nibbled on the Chips they provide gratis while perusing the rather large menu. I love heat and Coconut so the Spicy Coconut Soup with Shrimp to start was a no brainier. It was not cream based like I expected, though delicious. Mouse ear chili peppers provided the heat, I was careful not to slurp one. They look innocent…they are not, they are Hot…

For my entree when I saw the Pineapple Sambal made with pineapple rumpa and fresh pineapple, lemongrass, tamarind and ginger my decision was made. I went with Coconut Rice to go with it. The song “If you like Pina Colada’s” played in my head. The entree turned out to be very good though while the soup had some heat this didn’t. Though when I asked they kick it up a bit they did.

The place is pretty cool looking inside, I’ll let the pictures below tell their tale. Service was fine, but they did bring out the entree a minute after the soup. I’ve never understood why some places do this. I had to send it back to be reheated which they did and added some spice as requested. If you want heat, let them know otherwise they may assume you can’t handle it. Pasar Malam’s menu requires further exploration, I’ll be back. 

   
    
 
Pasar Malam is located at 208 Grand Street in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

Leave a Reply

