Some years back I caught up with a cousin in Vietnam who was traveling throughout SE Asia. Being big fans of Banh Mi we were psyched to try them in their county of origin. Oddly enough…we rarely ever saw them “In Country”. NYC however, has plenty of spots offering them and…


Saigon Shack’s
are quite possibly my favorite place for them. On my first visit I started with their big, fresh and awesome Shrimp Summer Rolls. They offer over a half dozen version of Banh Mi, I went spicy with their Brisket with pineapple which ona subsequent visit I turned some friends onto and they raved how good it was. On that visit I had the Fried Fish over Co’m (rice) in their house Mayo sauce that was huge and like everything else delicious. 

The bowls of Pho looked epic, so I went back for some and for something different got my Pho with Lemongrass Chicken which again, loaded with meat and tasty. I tried their classic Banh Mi on that visit and ended up having to bring half of both home. 

A lot of Vietnamese restaurants have been written up recently, but Saigon Shack is one of my favorite new finds. The food here isn’t fancy haute cuisine…it’s fresh, delicious food served in large portions at very fair prices, served by a friendly accommodating staff in a cool atmosphere. What more could you ask for? 
Saigon Shack is located at 114 MacDougal Street 

Leave a Reply

